Highlights From The C-Section

Leave a comment

November 24, 2010 by David Gillaspie

Excerpt from Pegg in Wrestling With Care  

“As I read this piece, I felt as though I had gone back in time.

In 1996, my then 48 year old husband became a non-verbal quadriplegic as the result of a brain stem stroke. After four months in a facility that did nothing more for him but keep the grass mowed outside his window, I too decided if anything was going to happen for him, we were going to have to do it together and I became his sole caregiver.

Having raised two high school wrestlers and a daughter, I also applied things from the mat that I knew because we never missed a match or practice session.  

Our 14, 15, 16 and 17 year old wrestlers were only 1, 2, 3 and 4 when their grandfather had his stroke.

Watching what could be done with the proper moves, just the right amount of strength and a whole bunch of guts, I know these high schoolers have a real edge on most boys their age.

Liz said in An Unplanned Exit, pt.3

Caregiving is hard, but it’s one job no one ever regrets doing.  Saying goodbye is bittersweet.

It’s a crazy aspect of our justice system that if someone dies at home and they aren’t on hospice care there must be coroner/police involvement, no matter how elderly or ill they’ve been.

I’m a hospice nurse and we’ve covered cases where families kept their loved one at home overnight, and in once instance for three nights, after their decease. I suppose it depends on what state you live in.

Kudos to you for doing your best for your Dad and Mom. You probably didn’t do a “perfect” job….it was better than that, you care(d) for them from your heart.

James added in Caring Enough

Speaking of college wrestling, NJCAA in particular. I am from Ohio a hot bed of high school wrestling with some of the best wrestlers in the country.  We are in region 12 of the NJCAA which includes Ohio, Indiana and Michigan.

There is only one NJCAA college out of 28 in the region that offers wrestling.  That is a travesty as well as a considerable loss of opportunity for a many young men who would like to continue their careers and can’t compete in Div. 1 or 2 and can’t afford the high cost of Div.3 schools.

A sad situation that nobody in the wrestling community seems to care enough to do anything about.

Iowa Boy said in DG’s B&B part 3

Finding your voice is not something you can do in a guitar shop, pawn shop, or strip mall. The voice you are hearing is not a guitar, a pink floyd riff or even your mother….it is the sum of the years you have spent trying to figure out who you and what you want to be. Music has a strange way of bringing that voice out in people.

The real questions is what will you do when you hear it?

Will you listen? Will you make sure other can hear it? Will you shove it back inside somewhere deep where it will rip your heart out someday trying to burst from your chest?

If you feel dizzy, go with it. You may never hear that voice again.

Beth said in Someday Soon

Hi, thanks for your Someday Soon post.  Sara was my sister and it is so good to know others still miss her as much as our family does.  I live in Vancouver WA now and still think of her in the present tense most of the time.  I sent a link to my other sister back in Wisconsin.  I know she’ll like it, too.

Iowa Boy added to Universal Mat Care

Interesting article from the land-0-wrestling:

In a wrestling crazed state like Iowa, it just had to happen: girls’ high school wrestling.  Gilbert High School, now in its third season, is the pioneer in this sport.  They’ve held the unsanctioned State Tournament there for the last two years and this years’ is scheduled for March 4. 

Living in Iowa, I was on hand for the state’s first dual meet between Gilbert and Spencer, where we met some of the wrestlers and their coaches.

Actually, Iowa is getting off to a slow start in girls’ wrestling, which is already quite popular in several states, with Texas’ 130 sanctioned high school teams leading the way.  There has been a national tournament for the last several years, and the International Olympics Committee is planning to add women’s wrestling soon.  Some see the sport as a possible savior for men’s college wrestling programs which are being scaled back due to Title IX requirements for gender equality.

Officer Barquist said in Bank Wrestler

Makes good sense to me!  I grew up in Henderson, Nevada.  I was skinny, but loved sports.  Played in all the kid sports, but found that I preferred boxing and football.

In high school I discovered I was good at wrestling, and picked up the first state championship (1968)in my weight class.  Earned a college scholarship, and learned I wasn’t invincible.  Went into law enforcement, and had no trouble learning, and sometimes teaching defensive tactics.

I ended up having to move up to North Bend, Oregon in 1977, and met Dave Abraham.  I was surprised at the first tournament that none of the wrestlers were using the granby roll.  Abe let me show some of them the moves.  They did well!  Abe would ask me to come to the wrestling room to help some of boys that might be going to college.

I’m still a cop: 61 years old in April, and still confident that if it’s needed, I will take an offender to the ground and cuff him before either one of us gets hurt!

Dan added to NBA Wrestler

I just became a Utah Jazz, Deron Williams fan.  I will enjoy watching him with this knowledge.  Also thanks for the recruiting speech I can use at next years sports assembly.  I will change it enough so as not to plagiarise but this information is going to be hard to improve upon.

Trev said in The Hindrance Of Help

You are a great author on wrestling.  I enjoy reading all of your articles.  Please keep up the good work.  Not many times do us wrestlers actually get to shine, and you help put our name and image out there.  Thank you again.

Your Comments Go Here Please

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 92 other followers

Click It

Good to see you

Categories

READER RATING

An Oregon Thing

VooDoo Duck

Archives

